Creating a folder from Outlook

Discussion, questions and support.
Post Reply
vrod5454
Posts: 20
Joined: Apr 18th, ’18, 02:13

Post by vrod5454 » Jun 5th, ’20, 05:06

Hi,

I am trying to reduce the amount of clicks it takes for me to access client folders from Outlook. My idea is...

I would like to be able to middle-click (mouse wheel) on the name of a person in an outlook email and then choose "open client folder" from a FastKeys Start Menu. This would then:
  • 1) copy the email (this is what is copied from outlook: John Smith<john.smith@foobardomain.com>
    2) parse what is copied and grab everything after the @ so just "foobardomain.com"
    3) Check to see if a folder exists in this path "C:\mypath\foobardomain.com"
    3.a) If true, then open an explorer window and go to the following path "C:\mypath\foobardomain.com"
    3.b) If false, then open a YES/CANCEL alert box asking "Would you like to create the folder foobardomain.com?".
    3.b.1) If YES then create the foobardomain.com folder and open an explorer window going to "C:\mypath\foobardomain.com".
    3.b.2) If CANCEL then do nothing and exit out.
How can this be done?

Thanks for your help.
User avatar
Marko
Posts: 1719
Joined: Mar 2nd, ’13, 21:02

Post by Marko » Jun 5th, ’20, 16:24

This script (Type: Command) does what you want - you need to select the mail address first.

Code: Select all

Send, ^c
Sleep 100
pos:=InStr(clipboard, "@", 0, 0)
if not pos
	return
folder:=SubStr(clipboard, pos+1)
folder:=StrReplace(folder, ">")
folder:="C:\mypath\" folder
if FileExist(folder)
	run % folder
else
{
	msgbox 4,, % "Would you like to create the folder " folder "?"
	IfMsgBox, Yes
	{
		FileCreateDir, %folder%
		run % folder
	}
}
vrod5454
Posts: 20
Joined: Apr 18th, ’18, 02:13

Post by vrod5454 » Jun 5th, ’20, 19:10

Hi Marko,

I created the Start Menu entry and set the type to "Script"

I get the following error when I try to save the script.

Error at line 9.
The following variable name contains an illegal character:
"0)",,UseErrorLevel"
The program will exit.


Any suggestions?
User avatar
Marko
Posts: 1719
Joined: Mar 2nd, ’13, 21:02

Post by Marko » Jun 5th, ’20, 19:52

You need to use Type: Command.
Post Reply