How it works

The user who wants to start sharing his settings can export his data to the central folder (local network or any cloud sync folder like OneDrive, Google Drive, Dropbox etc,) which can be accessed by other users. Select File > Team > Export menu option to export the file.

Other users can then open the shared file to use the shared settings immediately by selecting File > Team > Open Shared File menu option.

Users can also contribute their own command items or change the shared settings if this is enabled by the system administrator. Use File > Team > Share menu option to share the selected items into the shared file.



Sharing selected items

Select the items you wish to share with other users and Select File > Team > Share menu option. Alternatively you can right-click and choose Share... from the context menu. Select an existing tab or enter a new tab name into which the items will be saved. Also, select if already existing items shall be updated or skipped.


This feature copies the item(s) into the shared settings, together with all other correspondent files (phrase files, wordlists, tables etc.), to a shared folder. You can consider removing shared items from your local settings.



Open Shared File

Open shared settings file by selecting the File > Team > Open Shared File menu option. Typically, the user would receive the shared settings file path from the administrator or another user. Paste the path into the provided entry field or select folder icon to select the settings file (fdb) from disk.


Shared settings appear in FastKeys as separate tabs, indicated by the share icon - .  Editing or deleting of the shared settings is possible, if allowed by the system administrator, by selecting the Edit shared file button in Preferences > Team (or Enterprise).



Export

Export all settings to a central folder which can be accessed by other users. The folder can be located on a local network or any cloud sync folder (OneDrive, Google Drive, Dropbox or other similar solutions. Select File > Team > Export menu option to select the file folder and name and select the settings tabs you wish to export.


This feature creates a new settings file and copies all other correspondent files (phrase files, wordlists, tables etc.) to a shared folder. After exporting the settings, you can inform other users about the file location by sending them a link.



Send Link

Send a mail to other users with a link to the shared settings file and the instructions how to start using the shared settings.