New to FastKeys... having some trouble.

Discussion, questions and support.
dennisl

Post by dennisl » May 28th, ’17, 14:26

Hello, first time posting here - I'm very new to FastKeys. I just love the idea of the possibilities that AHK can do - though I'm not experienced in programming at all, so I really like the idea of FastKeys making it much easier to do all the various things that can be done.

I've limited myself to using only 3 modules at this time, as I don't want to get too overwhelmed: Text Expander, Start Menu, and Shortcuts were the most useful ones I could start using.

Some things over the past few weeks with me giving it a try as I go about my usual computer work I've noticed that haven't been working as I had expected:

Start Menu:
I have never had one of recent files in my list open for me, even after immediately creating the item - so it was not moved or deleted.
I cannot change the delay time for the menu to appear in the preferences, no matter what I set it to, it reverts to 1.

Text Expander:
I've noticed that changing the string of an expansion command, that if I hit apply or save after making the change. it will not "stick" - I need to exit HotKeys, start it up again, and then the changed text expansion string will work as planned.

Preferences:
Since having some of these issues, I have tried to change some pages of preferences to "defaults" and selecting "this page only" - only to see that some of the defaults have changed and others have not. e.g. Start menu: I had it set to the right side of the screen, with 6 recent items (files), with the "AppsKey" set as the Menu Shortcut. The ONLY item to revert from a changed value is the recent items (files) - back to 1. I can only presume the original value is 1, but that does seem odd. I am fairly positive that I assigned the "AppsKey" and Start Menu was set to the TOP of the screen.